Vote for the Echo Songwriting Prize

One of the best parts of my not-part-of-work job is sitting on juries. This is my third year as part of SOCAN’s ECHO Songwriting Prize. The winning songwriters get $5,000–god, I love a big cheque!

Although none of my song choices were put forward, that’s OK–it’s all part of process. And now it’s your turn: vote for the finalists.

While jury duty can be time- and brain-consuming, I also get introduced to a lot of new music. This year I fell in love with Lido Pimienta, a young Columbian artist living in London and Toronto, Ontario. I’m not sure she would have come across my radar otherwise, but I’m so glad she did: what a breath of fresh air. So thanks SOCAN.

This entry was posted in Music mash and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

